The 16th Lok Sabha polls registered a record average voter turnout of 66.4%.Dhubri constituency in Assam recorded the highest turnout at 88.22%, while Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir saw the lowest polling at 25.86%.

Dhubri of Assam witnessed the highest turnout followed by Nagaland, Tamluk (WB), Bishnupur (WB) and Laskshdeep. Srinagar of J&K registered the lowest turnout, followed by Anantnag of the same state, Baramulla, Kalian (Maharashtra) and Patna Sahib. The highest female voter turnout was recorded in Tamluk constituency in West Bengal, at 89.27%, which is better than the highest male voter turnout witnessed in Dhubri at 88.86%.


Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of the adult suffrage. The maximum strength of the House envisaged by the Constitution is 552, which is made up by election of upto 530 members to represent the States, upto 20 members to represent the Union Territories and not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the Hon’ble President, if, in his/her opinion, that community is not adequately represented in the House. The total elective membership is distributed among the States in such a way that the ratio between the number of seats allotted to each State and the population of the State is, so far as practicable, the same for all States.

In exercise of the powers conferred upon the President by sub-clause (b) of clause (2) of article 85 of the Constitution, The Fifteenth Lok Sabha has been dissolved by the President of

India on 18th May, 2014.


Party                                                                                     Total

Bharatiya Janata Party                                                            282

Communist Party of India                                                      1

Communist Party of India (Marxist)                                      9

Indian National Congress                                                       44

Nationalist Congress Party                                                     6

Aam Aadmi Party                                                                   4

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam                       37

All India N.R. Congress                                                         1

All India Trinamool Congress                                                 34

All India United Democratic Front                                        3

Biju Janata Dal                                                                        20

Indian National Lok Dal                                                         2

Indian Union Muslim League                                                 2

Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party                        3

Janata Dal (Secular)                                                                2

Janata Dal (United)                                                                 2

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha                                                        2

Kerala Congress (M)                                                               1

Lok Jan Shakti Party                                                               6

Naga Peoples Front                                                                 1

National Peoples Party                                                            1

Pattali Makkal Katchi                                                             1

Rashtriya Janata Dal                                                               4

Revolutionary Socialist Party                                                 1

Samajwadi Party                                                                     5

Shiromani Akali Dal                                                           4

Shiv Sena                                                                              18

Sikkim Democratic Front                                                   1

Telangana Rashtra Samithi                                               11

Telugu Desam                                                                      16

All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen                          1

Apna Dal                                                                                 2

Rashtriya Lok Samta Party                                                  3

Swabhimani Paksha                                                              1

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party                          9

Independents                                                                          3

Total                                                                                        543


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password