Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his Union Cabinet: Basics Explained

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his Union Cabinet bringing in 36 new faces and promoting seven existing ministers.


There is a Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister to aid and advise the President in exercise of his functions.(Art.74)

The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, who also appoints other ministers on the advice of the Prime Minister. (Art.75)

The word “cabinet” is mentioned only in Article 352 of the Indian Constitution. (44th Amendment Act)

The total number of Ministers, including the Prime Minister, in the council of Ministers, shall not exceed fifteen percent of the total numbers of members of the house of people. (Art 75(1A))-91st Amendment Act.

The ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the President. (Art75(2))

The Council of ministers is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha.(Art75(3))

It is the duty of the Prime Minister to communicate to the President all decisions of Council of Ministers relating to administration of affairs of the Union and proposals for legislation and information relating to them.

The Council of Ministers comprises Ministers who are members of Cabinet, Ministers of State (independent charge), Ministers of State, and Deputy Ministers.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password