Novak Djokovic beats Nick Kyrgios to win Wimbledon: Basics Explained

Novak Djokovic beats Nick Kyrgios to win Wimbledon; his seventh Wimbledon title, his 21st grand slam. Djokovic wins his seventh Wimbledon title, beating Kyrgios 4-6 6-3 6-4 7-6. he Serbian now owns 64 ‘Big Titles’, putting him five ahead of Nadal and 10 in front of Roger Federer. A ‘Big Title’ is a trophy at a Grand Slam championship, the Nitto ATP Finals, an ATP Masters 1000 tournament or an Olympic singles gold medal. Djokovic now has 21, putting him one behind Nadal. Federer has lifted 20 major trophies. The Serbian also tied his idol Pete Sampras and William Renshaw for the second-most men’s singles titles in Wimbledon history with seven. Only Federer, an eight-time champion at the grass-court major, has emerged victorious more at the event.

LEARNING FROM HOME/WITHOUT CLASSES/BASICS The French Open is played on clay, which owes its red colour to the crushed brick which forms the upper layer of the surface. There are three layers in all – one of limestone, one of clinker, and one of stone as well as drainage pipes. Clay is the slowest of surfaces. Along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open, the French Open is one of the four historic tennis tournaments which make up the legendary Grand Slam. The four tournaments all being played on different surfaces: Plexi cushion in Australia, clay at Roland Garros, grass at Wimbledon, and Decoturf at the US Open. The Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open are the four Grand Slam tournaments. The Grand Slam itinerary consists of the Australian Open in mid-January, the French Open in May/June, Wimbledon in June/July, and the US Open in August/September. Most men’s/women Wimbledon titles Player                                Country                    Wins Roger Federer                  Switzerland              8 Martina Navratilova       USA                            9


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password