The 63rd National Film Awards, presented by President Pranab Mukherjee, ceremony got a dash of glitz and glamour of Bollywood with Amitabh Bachchan and Kangana Ranaut getting Best Actor and Best Actress honours. Amitabh, has earlier won the National Film Award thrice for films “Agneepath”, “Black” and “Paa”.

In the Feature Film category, the award for the Best Feature Film was given to filmmaker S.S. Rajamouli’s southern magnum opus “Baahubali: The Beginning“.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali got the Best Director award for “Bajirao Mastani”; Remo D’Souza won the award in Best Choreography for “Bajirao Mastani” .
Shriram Iyengar, Saloni Dhatrak and Sujeet Sawant won for the “Bajirao Mastani” production design.
In the audiography section, Biswadeep Chatterjee’s won for sound designing and Justin Ghose’s won for re-recording of the final mixed track for “Bajirao Mastani.
“Masaan” directed by Neeraj Ghaywan and produced by Phantom Films received the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director.

Superstar Salman Khan’s on-screen journey to Pakistan from India via “Bajrangi Bhaijaan” became the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment.

Monali Thakur, who won the Best Female Playback Singer for the song “Moh moh ke dhaage” from “Dum Laga Ke Haisha” and Mahesh Kale, who won the Best Playback Singer (male) for the Marathi film “Katyar Kaljat Ghusli”.

Filmmaker Vishal Bhardwaj bagged the Best Screenplay Writer (adapted) Award for “Talvar”. The Best Screenplay Writer (original) was shared by Juhi Chaturvedi (“Piku”) and Himanshu Kumar (“Tanu Weds Manu Returns”).
Veteran Tanvi Azmi also won the Best Supporting Actress award for her act in “Bajirao Mastani”, The award for the Best Children’s Film was given to “Duronto” (Hindi) produced by Code Red Films. Master Gaurav Menon was conferred award for Best Child Artist for movie “Ben” (Malayalam).

The Award for the Best Music direction (songs) has been conferred on M. Jayachandran for “Ennu Ninte Moideen” (Malayalam) and the award for the best music direction (Background Score) was given to Ilaiyaraaja for “Thaarai Thappattai” (Tamil).

The award for the best lyrics has been conferred on Varun Grover for the song “Moh moh ke dhaage” from the film “Dum Laga Ke Haisha”.

A special jury award has been conferred on Kalki Koechlin, , for the film “Margarita with a Straw”.

This year National Film Awards included a special award given to the state of Gujarat for being the most film friendly state in the country and veteran film actor and director Manoj Kumar was conferred with the 47th Dadasaheb Phalke Award at the function.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password