Novak Djokovic beats Dominic Thiem in Australian Open final

Novak Djokovic, The Serbian star, beat fifth-seeded Austrian Dominic Thiem 6-4, 4-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-l, his eighth Australian Open crown and his 17th Grand Slam championship crown. Only Roger Federer (20) and Rafael Nadal (19) have won more major singles titles in the sport’s history.

Nadal 12 at Roland Garros
Federer 8 at Wimbledon
Djokovic 8 at the Australian Open


The French Open is played on clay, which owes its red colour to the crushed brick which forms the upper layer of the surface. There are three layers in all – one of limestone, one of clinker and one of stone – as well as drainage pipes. Clay is the slowest of surfaces. Along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, the French Open is one of the four historic tennis tournaments which make up the legendary Grand Slam. The four tournaments all being played on different surfaces: Plexi cushion in Australia, Clay at Roland Garros, Grass at Wimbledon and Decoturf at the US Open. The Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and US Open are the four Grand Slam tournaments. The Grand Slam itinerary consists of the Australian Open in mid January, the French Open in May/June, Wimbledon in June/July, and the US Open in August/September.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password