Nikhat Zareen Wins Gold Medal at 2023 Boxing World Championships: Basics Explained

Nikhat Zareen defeated two-time Asian champion Nguyen Thi Tam of Vietnam by a 5-0 to take the light flyweight title BA Women’s World Boxing Championships.

With the win, Nikhat becomes only the second Indian after the legendary MC Mary Kom to win the title of the prestigious tournament twice.

Two-time bronze medallist Lovlina, on the other hand, defeated two-time Commonwealth Games medallist Caitlin Parker of Australia 5-2 to win her maiden world title.

Earlier Nitu Ghanghas (48kg) and Saweety Boora (81kg) were crowned world champions in their respective weight categories.


Mary Kom

2012 London Olympics (Bronze Medal); 2014 Asian Games (Gold Medal); Six times World Championships (Gold Medal); Five times Asian Games (Gold Medal); One-time Commonwealth Games (Gold Medal);

For her achievements in sports, she was also nominated as a Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha by the President of India. Also, she was awarded the Padma Vibhushan award which is the second-highest civilian award in India.

Sarita Devi

Sarita Devi from Manipur is a former national and world champion lightweight category. She was the first Indian woman to win a gold medal at the World Championships in the 52kg weight category and recently Nikhat Zareen became the second to achieve the feat

  • The first Indian boxer to win an Olympic medal was Vijender Singh – who won bronze in the men’s middleweight (75kg) category at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.
  • Women’s boxing was introduced to the Olympic programme in London 2012 and the legendary Mary Kom brought home India’s second Olympic boxing medal – a bronze in the flyweight (51kg) category – that year. Lovlina Borgohain won India’s third Olympic boxing medal at Tokyo 2020, bagging a bronze in the welterweight (69kg) category.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password