India hockey team won the Asian Champions Trophy 2023

The Indian men’s hockey team defeated Malaysia 4-3 in the Asian Champions Trophy 2023 final.

Jugraj Singh , Harmanpreet Singh , Gurjant Singh  and Akashdeep Singh  scored the goals for India.

Indian side was Captained by  Harmanpreet Singh.

The Asian Champions Trophy ,Asia’s top six sides contest biennially, was previously won by India in 2011 and 2016. They shared the trophy with Pakistan in 2018 after rain played spoilsport in Muscat, Oman.

India won six consecutive hockey gold medals at Olympics between 1928 and 1956; 8 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze. India does not officially have a national sport based on the statement of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.


Dhyan Chand is one of the greatest hockey players had  scored 14 goals in the 1928 Olympics to help India win the gold.

Roop Singh; His one of the records includes his 13 goals in two games.

 Balbir Singh Sr. helped the Blue Tigers win three consecutive gold medal wins in 1948, 1952, and 1956.

Udham Singh is one of the players who won three hockey gold medals at the Olympics.

Leslie Claudius, considered as the best half-back, is another hockey legend who won the most Olympic medals (3 Gold and 1 Silver) for India.

 Ajit Pal Singh was one of the legends who captained the Indian hockey team. He is

Kunwar Digvijay Singh has won the prestigious Padma Shri award in 1960 and gold medals in 1948 and 1952 Olympics.

Shankar Lakshman, a goalkeeper for the Indian hockey team, was the the part of the squad that won two gold medals and one silver medal at 1956, 1960 and 1964 Olympics.

Dhanraj Pillay, captained the Indian hockey team for a few years, was considered as one of the best forwards in hockey history.

 Mohammed Shahid , one of the best dribblers in hockey history, has helped the Indian team to win the gold medal at the 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow, silver at the 1982 Asian Games and bronze at the 1986 Asian Games.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password