Heritage development projects in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana approved

Union urban development ministry on Friday approved projects worth Rs 12 crore for improving tourist infrastructure in heritage places of Amaravati in Andhra Pradesh and Warangal in Telangana.
An inter-ministerial Heritage Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) National Empowered Committee approved development of a heritage park in Amaravati besides developmental works at 1,000 Pillar Temple and Kazipet Durgah and rejuvenation of pond at Padmakshi Temple in Warangal city.

Amaravati and Warangal are among the 12 cities included in the Heritage Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) for improving the social, cultural and economic ecosystems by augmenting necessary infrastructure with the objective of conserving the rich cultural heritage and enabling better facilities for tourists and pilgrims.


India is endowed with rich and diverse natural, historic and cultural resources (different cultures, religions, traditions, home of various forms of art & handicrafts, music and literature). However, it is yet to explore the full potential of such resources to its full advantages.

Efforts in the past were made to conserve historic and cultural resources in Indian cities and towns; these efforts were made in isolation from the needs and aspirations of the local communities as well as the main urban development issues( water supply, sanitation, roads), such as local economy, urban planning, livelihoods, service delivery, and infrastructure provision in the areas. Basic amenities like toilets, signages, street lights are missing; Heritage areas are neglected, overcrowded with inadequate basic services and infrastructure.

With this background, Ministry of Urban Development, Government of India, launched, on 21 January 2015,  the Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) scheme; a paradigm shift in India’s approach to city development, bringing together urban planning/economic growth and heritage conservation in an inclusive and integrated manner with special attention on livelihoods, skills, cleanliness, security, accessibility and service delivery.

The scheme will broadly focus on four theme areas i.e. Physical Infrastructure, Institutional Infrastructure, and Economic Infrastructure & Social Infrastructure. HRIDAY is a central sector scheme, where 100% funding will be provided by Government of India. The duration of this scheme is four years i.e. from December 2014 to March 2018. The scheme would be implemented in a mission mode

With a focus on:

Holistic development of heritage cities.

The scheme aims to preserve and revitalise soul of the heritage city to reflect the city’s unique character by encouraging aesthetically appealing, accessible, informative & secured environment

To make these cities vibrant, competitive and to address some of stated challenges

To tap the unlimited potential underlying in tourism and heritage sector unleashing the power of skilful artisans and traditional economy

Not only the heritage development of city is about development and conservation of few monuments, but development of entire city, its planning, its basic services, quality of life to its communities, its economy and livelihoods, cleanliness, security, reinvigoration of its’ soul and explicit manifestation of its character. ensuring the sustainable growth of selected heritage cities in partnership with State Governments.

As a pilot, this flagship scheme of the government focuses on revitalising twelve heritage cities, namely Amrawati (Andhra Pradesh), Gaya (Bihar),Dwaraka (Gujarat), Badami (Karnataka), Puri (Odisha), Amritsar (Punjab), Ajmer (Rajasthan), Kanchipuram and Velankanni (Tamil Nadu),Warrangal (Telangana) and Mathura and Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh).


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password