Spain’s Rafael Nadal made history by winning a record 14th French Open title and 22th Grand Slam title with a victory over Casper Ruud in the Paris final.

  • This win made him the oldest title winner in the history of the clay-court tournament.
  • The oldest champion in tournament history had been Andres Gimeno, who was 34 when he won in 1972.
  • He’s now 112-3 at Roland Garros. He has won the French open as many times as Pete Sampras has won majors.
  • By winning, he now has his 22nd Grand Slam title, surging ahead of Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer, who are tied at 20
  • Nadal is 112-3 at the French Open and 14-0 in tournament finals.

             Nadal is only the only player in history to win the same Grand Slam on 14 occasions. Close to this feet is Margaret Court, who won 11 Australian Open titles between 1960 and 1973. Margaret Court’s 11 titles at the Australian Open are the overall record, but seven of those came when it was an amateur event called the Australian Championships.


The French Open is played on clay, which owes its red colour to the crushed brick which forms the upper layer of the surface. There are three layers in all – one of limestone, one of clinker, and one of stone – as well as drainage pipes. Clay is the slowest of surfaces. Along with the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open, the French Open is one of the four historic tennis tournaments which make up the legendary Grand Slam.

The four tournaments all being played on different surfaces: Plexi cushion in Australia, clay at Roland Garros, grass at Wimbledon, and Decoturf at the US Open. The Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open are the four Grand Slam tournaments. The Grand Slam itinerary consists of the Australian Open in mid-January, the French Open in May/June, Wimbledon in June/July, and the US Open in August/September.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password