Bodo Peace Accord 2020

The government signed an peace accord with one of the insurgent groups of Assam — the National Democratic Front of Boroland (NDFB).The All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU), which has been spearheading a movement for a Bodoland state was also signatory to the accord.  The tripartite agreement gave birth to a Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

                        This is the third Bodo accord in last 27 years.

                       Movement in Bodo-dominated areas gained momentum from 1987 when the All Bodo Students Union (ABSU) launched agitation for a separate state.Ultimately, a Bodo-agreement was signed on February 20, 1993 between the Centre, Assam government and the ABSU-Bodo Peoples’ Action Committee (BPAC).The agreement led to the formation of Bodoland Autonomous Council (BAC), a contiguous area from river Sonkosh in the west to river Pachnoi in the east, on the northern bank of Brahmaputra.The BAC was given power over 38 subjects, with a 40-member General Council, including 5 members nominated by the state government, while rest of the seats were reserved for ST.

                But, soon a section of Bodo people rejected the accord, and claimed it was “inadequate” to meet the long-cherished political aspirations of the people.February 10, 2003, signed a tripartite agreement with the Centre and Assam government.It was the second Bodo accord.The second Bodo accord led to the formation of the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC). The BTC, under the provisions of the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution, had more political power than the BAC. 

                After several rounds of negotiations with New Delhi, four factions of NDFB and the ABSU,  signed another Bodo accord, the third one.Now, there is going to be 60 members in the Bodoland Territorial Region.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password