X-ray emission from Planet Uranus: Basics Explained

Uranus, which is the seventh planet from the sun, is reflecting X-rays, according to a new study by scientists published in the Journal of Geophysical Research. The study also added that understand the X-ray emission could provide more information about the characteristics of the planet and its composition.


The order of the planets in the solar system, starting nearest the sun and working outward is the    following:  Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune 

The inner four planets closest to the sun — Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars — are often called the “terrestrial planets” 


Waves are characterized by their repetitive motion. The Figure below shows two examples of waves.

A wave consists of alternation crests and troughs. The wavelength (λ) is defined as the distance between any two consecutive identical points on the waveform. The amplitude is the height of the wave.

(B) A wave with a short wavelength (top) has a high frequency because more waves pass a given point in a certain amount of time. A wave with a longer wavelength (bottom) has a lower frequency.

A wave cycle consists of one complete wave—starting at the zero point, going up to a wave crest, going back down to a wave trough, and back to the zero point again. The wavelength of a wave is the distance between any two corresponding points on adjacent waves.

The frequency is the number of waves that pass a certain point in a specified amount of time.

Wavelength and frequency are inversely related. As the wavelength of a wave increases, its frequency decreases.

Ultraviolet radiation is the one form of radiant energy coming out from the sun. The sun emits a range of energy known as the electromagnetic spectrum.

The various forms of energy, or radiation, are classified according to wavelength. The shorter the wave-length, the more energetic the radiation. In order of decreasing energy, the principal forms of radiation are gamma rays, x-rays, UV (ultraviolet radiation), visible light, infrared radiation, microwaves, and radio waves.

The visible spectrum is nothing but the observable region of the electromagnetic wave which is visible to human eyes. In the electromagnetic spectrum, the visible spectrum ranges from the infrared region to the UV region. The visible light lies in between the infrared and ultraviolet range of wavelengths. The human eye can detect the light spectrum ranging from 400 nanometers (violet) to about 700 nanometers (red). Other electromagnetic radiations are either too small or too large to capture for the human eye and are out of biological limitations.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password