Australia lifts the ICC World Cup,  India runner up

Australia won a record-extending sixth World Cup with a six-wicket victory on the back of brilliant innings of 137 by Travis Head; adding to its 50-over world titles in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

India won all 10 of its matches before the final and was seeking a third trophy in its fourth appearance. Virat Kohli finished with 765 runs in 11 games with an average of 95.62. He was named player of the tournament.

Australia is not only the country with the most titles won (6); they are the only country to win the three ODI World Cups consecutively in 1999, 2003, and 2007. They broke the record previously held by the West Indies when they won the 2007 World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. Earlier, the West Indies won two consecutive world cups in 1975 and 1979 under their iconic captain, Clive Lloyd.

The 2023 ODI Cricket World Cup will be the first ever to be held without the West Indies participating in it., the West Indies failed to qualify for this World Cup when it lost the qualifiers against Scotland.

The 1975 inaugural men’s ODI Cricket World Cup was not actually the first-ever cricket World Cup. Remarkably, two years prior, in 1973, England hosted the inaugural women’s cricket World Cup.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password