8 States get new Governors: Basics Explained

President of India Ram Nath Kovind has made these appointments of 8 new governors.

Union social justice minister Thawar Chand Gehlot, has been appointed as the new governor of Karnataka.

Former Bharatiya Janata Party state president of Andhra Pradesh, Hari Babu Kambhampati, will be the new governor of Mizoram. Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel, a former minister in Gujarat, has been appointed as governor of Madhya Pradesh, while Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar, former Speaker of the Goa assembly, will be the new governor of Himachal Pradesh.

PS Sreedharan Pillai, governor of Mizoram, has been transferred and appointed as governor of Goa. Satyadev Narayan Arya, governor of Haryana, has been transferred and appointed as governor of Tripura.

Ramesh Bais, governor of Tripura has been transferred and appointed as governor of Jharkhand.

Bandaru Dattatraya, former Union labour minister and governor of Himachal Pradesh has now been transferred and appointed as governor of Haryana.

The Governor is the head of a state just like the President is the head of the republic. The Governor is the nominal head of a state, while the Chief Minister is the executive head.

Lieutenant governors are appointed in Union Territories of Delhi, Andaman Nicobar Island, and Pudducherry. All other union territories are governed by an Administrative Head. The only exception is Chandigarh. The governor of Punjab is also the lieutenant governor of Chandigarh.

              The first woman to become a Governor of a state in India was Sarojini Naidu. She was the Governor of Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 till her demise on 2 March 1949.

                          Article 153 of the Constitution requires that there shall be a Governor for each State. One person can be appointed as Governor for two or more States.
Article 154 vests the executive power of the State in the Governor.
Article 155 says that “The Governor of a State shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal”.
Article 156 provides that “The Governor shall hold office during the pleasure of the President”. The term of the Governor is prescribed as five years.
                                                The only qualifications for appointment as Governor are that he should be a citizen of India and must have completed the age of thirty-five years.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password