Top Civilians Award by Indian Government: Basics Explained

The Civilian awards conferred are:

  1. Bharat Ratna- 1st degree of honour
  2. Padma Vibhushan- 2nd degree of honour
  3. Padma Bhushan- 3rd degree of honour
  4. Padma Shri- 4th degree of honour

Bharat Ratna’, the highest civilian Award in the country, was instituted in the year 1954. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour. On conferment of the award, the recipient receives a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion. The Award does not carry any monetary grant. As per Article 18 (1) of the Constitution, the award cannot be used as a prefix or suffix to the recipient’s name. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister himself to the President. The award has the shape of a peepal leaf and is bronze-toned. The award has the emblem of Sun in the middle, and the words “Bharat Ratna” are inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari Script. On the reverse side, it has the State Emblem and State Motto.


1. Shri Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) 1954

2. Shri Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) 1954

3. Shri Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (1888-1970) 1954

4. Dr. Bhagwan Das (1869-1958) 1955

5. Shri Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya (1861-1962) 1955

READ:Microsoft Word – List of BR recepients-English (


49. Karpoori Thakur (Posthumous) (2023)

50. Lal Krishna Advani (2023)

51. PV Narasimha Rao (Posthumous) (2023)

52. Chaudhary Charan Singh (Posthumous) (2023)

53. MS Swaminathan (Posthumous) (2023)

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country is conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The Awards are given in various disciplines/fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

READ: PadmaAwards2024_25012024.pdf (

Gallantry Awards are presented to the personnel in the forces for bravery and valour.

The Gallantry awards that are conferred in India are as follows (in the order of precedence):

Param Vir Chakra

Ashoka Chakra

Mahavir Chakra

Kirti Chakra

Vir Chakra

Shaurya Chakra


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password