Martyrs Day is observed in India on March 23 every year. On this day, Indians pay homage to martyrs( death anniversary of three great Indian freedom fighters) Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev Thapar and Shivaram Rajguru and remember their sacrifices.

The famous trio revolutionaries lost their lives on March 23, 1931, in the Lahore conspiracy case, while they were very young during the Freedom movement. The trio was sentenced to death of conspiring to kill John P Saunders, a British police officer in pre-partition Lahore, who had ordered the brutal police action that killed independence movement leader Lala Lajpat Rai.


BHAGAT SINGH :  He was an Indian nationalist considered to be one of the most influential revolutionaries of the Indian independence movement.He became a member of many organizations during the freedom movement, such as Naujawan Bharat Sabha, Hindustan Socialist Republican Association and Kirti Kisan Activity.On April 8, 1929, Bhagat Singh along with his mates threw bombs at the Central Legislative Assembly and later, instead of escaping, stayed put shouting ‘Inquilab Zindabad’.

SUKHDEV : Like Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev was also the member of Hindustan Socialist Republican Association (HSRA). He also established the Naujawan Bharat Sabha organisation which helped the young participate in the freedom struggle and fight communalism.

RAJGURU: Shivaram Hari Rajguru was a revolutionary from Pune, Maharashtra, who was accused in the assassination of J P Saunders along with Bhagat Singh and Sukhdev. He went on to be a member of HRSA as well.


Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password